The Natural Side Effects of Reading Austen

janeaustenwarning

I have found that reading Jane Austen has had some side effects on me.  I have found myself referring to people with Miss and Mr.  Not to mention, much to the irritation of those around me, using phrases that are nearly two-hundred years old.  I find myself with a desire to embroider, wear a hat, and to make a dress out of muslin (if I could sew, that is).  Yes, there are side effects of reading Austen.  I believe there should be a warning label, like the ones found on cigarette packs.

Warning: Could cause an irrational need for tea, embroidering, playing a pianoforte, and bowing every single time you enter a room.

8 Comments

  1. I’ve found the same thing! Perhaps not the Mr. and Miss. part, but every time I read a Jane Austen book or watch one of the movie adaptations, I find myself wanting to embroider, write, play the piano or even sing (which I’m dreadful at!).

    • Me and my sister-in-law found the “walk about the room” situation so hilarious that one night we were all sitting around eating dinner and we did it! Everyone thought we were insane but it was just great fun. Every once in awhile it’s good to do something a little off the wall!

      • Nice! I’ve never tried that. Have you thought about going to the Jane Austen event in Bath? I’ve heard people dress up in period costume and they do the traditional dances. Looks like fun! Plus, it’s the perfect excuse to try out everything from the book 🙂

        Frances
        http://francesandlynne.wordpress.com/

      • Oh I would love to do that but I live in the US. That’s kind of a long trek for a dance. However, one of my goals is to make it to the UK at some point in time. Even if it is for a visit, although I could use a quiet little village.

  2. This is so true! I have read Pride and Prejudice almost 5 times and decided to write my undergraduate thesis on it. Austen is infectious in so many ways. I found you through BBN! I’m following along with your 100 classics reading!

    • Thank you so much for following along. It’s kind of overwhelming but I’m excited. Glad to have you on board.

  3. Saved as a favorite, I love your website!

Leave a Reply

