Little Green Men Say Hello

AlienGetty460

 

Here’s the thing with reading War of the Worlds, I am not a huge fan of sci-fi.  I have never watched an episode of Star Trek or the Star Wars movies.  I’ve never even contemplated time travel before I had my son.  I don’t have the first clue what Babylon Five was about or Star Gate (one word or two?)  Atlantis and I have never seen an episode of Doctor Who (although everyone insists that my son must watch it).  I have always had an aversion to looking at the night sky.  It makes me feel too tiny.  I am an earthling through and through.  I love our planet, the green grass between my toes, and the feel of the wind on my face.  I love the smell of sunshine, yes I know it doesn’t have a smell, but I love it just the same.  I am Earth from the top of my head to the tips of my feet.  So War of the Worlds is a hard sell for my brain.

Do I believe in the existence of aliens?  It’s an intriguing thought and a subject that is studied by wiser people than myself.  I will never claim to know the facts or even to venture an intellectual discussion on the matter.  Here’s what I know to be the truth in my brain.  We are a very tiny speck in the universe.  We’re a young planet with a sun that will eventually cease to exist.  Our tiny little lives are fairly insignificant in the cosmic timeline.  We’re the ants of super space and I’m fine with that.  I understand and embrace that notion.  It is a sad thought, however, that we’re in this universe alone.  The thought that, in all the space and all the planets, we are all that there is; feels so lonely.  Do I think they’ve visited us?  Well, any jaunt through a Walmart will give a pretty good idea that they probably have.  Do they live among us?  I have had the pleasure in my life to meet some very kooky critters and I can tell you that there is at least one woman that I am determined is the missing link between us and aliens.  The dashboard of a car has more of a personality and there’s not a single inflection in her tone when she speaks.  There’s something very off about her.  I don’t, however, believe that Area 51 houses a dead or living alien, I do not believe that anyone has been abducted, and I certainly don’t think aliens would travel thousands of light years just to probe some hygiene deficient man’s rear.  I’m sorry but if they are seeking information on this planet and who inhabits it, they may want to start abductions in universities and stop grazing farmland.  Just saying.

 

Leave a Reply

