My Party Invite List

25people-tile

I won’t get into a long philosophical debate here, I will just state that I am not overly religious.  The truth be told, I am more agnostic than anything else.  I have no book that answers all my needs and that’s okay.  I feel fulfilled in my life and I believe that’s what matters.  However, I need to believe there’s an after life.  I have to believe it because if I don’t the sadness of losing my grandma would be too much to bear.  I think it would be a place without class barriers where there is no rich or poor.  A place where we all get to mingle.  Then I would throw a giant party and invite the following people:

  • Leonardo Da Vinci, just so I could pick his brain for a bit and thank him for his imagination.
  • William Shakespeare because I would love to let him know how many romantic tales he inspired.
  • Jane Austen, to thank her for bringing love and humor to readers all over the world.
  • Lucille Ball.  Oh come on, it’s Lucy, need I say more?
  • Marie Antoinette, so I can feed her cake and eat it too.
  • Mark Twain, just to sit and listen to him speak.
  • Gandhi, to discuss world events.
  • Galileo, to tell him how much we now know about space.
  • Albert Einstein, because he’s Einstein.
  • Harriet Tubman, to stand back and just be in awe of her courage.
  • Martin Luther King Jr., to tell him that we’re still working on that dream of his.
  • Jim Henson, to hear him do the voice of Kermit and thank him for the gift of my childhood.
  • Charlie Chaplin, for laughs.
  • Winston Churchill, to discuss politics.
  • Princess Diana, to let her know that her boys are doing just fine.
  • Mother Theresa, this one I have never understood but I really want to meet her.
  • Babe Ruth, to play a round of baseball.
  • Heath Ledger, because he’s Heath Ledger.
  • Abe Lincoln, to see if I can catch him in a lie and to wear his hat.
  • Dr. Seuss, to thank him for it all, from Green Eggs and Ham to The Cat in the Hat.
  • Jimi Hendrix, for guitar lessons.
  • Bea Arthur, because she is probably the most hilarious person ever.
  • Jack the Ripper, so I can finally know who he is.
  • George Carlin, because sometimes I just need to laugh at reality.
  • Charles Dickens, to give him a hug, this man was in serious need of a hug.

If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would it be and why?

2 Comments

  1. Some great choices on here! Jim Henson and Dr. Seuss in particular. I’d add Charles Darwin for sure. ….One of my personal heroes.

    • There are so many. I limited myself to 25. Charles Darwin would be very very interesting to meet.

Leave a Reply

