The Assumption of 100 Classics Challenge

readingchallenge

 

When I took on the challenge of reading 100 classics, the assumption I made was that I would find these books somehow enriching to my existence.  Here’s the problem with this assumption.  In order for this to occur I must enjoy the reading.  It must fill a void that I didn’t know existed before reading the book.  While I find the social commentary of War of the Worlds enlightening, especially the more I learn about the author, I find the book dull.  I know it is packed with action but for some reason the rhythm of the book has me flummoxed.  Yes, I said flummoxed…I enjoy that word.  It rolls off the tongue beautifully.  However, I digress.  The book itself just throws me.  I can see the social commentary, and being a fan of Jane Austen I enjoy social commentary, but I find the reading of the book the worst part of this challenge.  It just drags on.  Those three chapters I read last night took me well over an hour, unheard of with me.  I had to re-read passages because my brain had decided to go on a little vacation somewhere in the middle.

Have you ever had a book that you were determined to read but just struggled all the way through it?

I just want to thank all of you who are following me and commenting on here.  You’re keeping me reading, even when I would rather have a root canal than continue reading this book!

8 Comments

  1. Ulysses was that book for me… I tried over and over and tried reading with cliff notes beside me. I never quit books, but that one simply defeated me.

    • This book is so small too but it is just dragging. I am working on it but I just find no interest in it at all. I think a lot of it has to do with how repulsive I find the author too. I know that he’s one of the greats but he also believed in euthanizing humans, he was an adulterer, and he’s just repulsive to me. I do believe that subconsciously that’s why I despise this book.

      • I’m working on Atlas Shrugged right now….it is completely contrary to my worldview and the author started a whole movement around it. I find it despicable, but very interesting (and well written) and helps me understand that perspective better.

        Do you think you will make it through wotw?

      • Oh yeah, I’ll make it through it but I certainly won’t enjoy it!

  2. do read Silas Marner by George Eliot. I feel this book adds an extra star in the lists of classics. I would also recommend Wuthering Heights, Sherlock Holmes, Dracula and Agnes Grey! Those books are the works of fine writing! 🙂

    • There are so many I want to read. Whether I will enjoy them is beyond me.

  3. I’ve recently come to the realisation that I will never read a million books in my lifetime. For some reason that really upset me and therefore I flatly refuse to read any book that fails to hold my interest. It doesn’t matter if it’s been deemed a classic or if I’m considered to be uncivilised. I just won’t do it.

    • Yes, I am thinking that some of these are really going to be a challenge

Leave a Reply

