Therapy Dogs Help Kids Read

All of you know how I feel about childhood literacy.  I believe it is the single most important thing you can do to help a child.  Being literate was not always an option for humans.  For many centuries it was only the elite that were blessed with the ability to read.  It helped to control the masses and stop the common man from questioning authority.  Luckily, that is no longer the case and for the first time in human history we have a boom of literacy.  This has brought about many changes in how our children learn to actually read.  I have seen similar stories from around the country but thought I would share this video with you.  I believe that the dogs help the children because they never try to correct them, they are absolutely the truest form of patient listeners.  If you’ve ever sat and listened to a first grader attempting to read, you understand that being a patient listener sometimes takes a lot of patience.  Dogs have all day, they live in the right then and there, and that makes them ideal for this situation.  Do you have a special way you helped a child learn to read?  For me it was the one sentence thing.  I would read a sentence and then my son would read a sentence.  This helped me to not have to be patient through the whole book but gave him the ability to practice and know he was doing great.  We went onto the paragraph thing and then up to the chapters, now I can listen to him read an entire book with the joy of knowing I helped build that!

Leave a Reply

