Being Your Own Impediment

bilbo

Believing in yourself can sometimes be your biggest stumbling block, as little Bilbo Baggins knows all too well.  It’s only when Gandalf leaves the group and Bilbo is put to the test, that we see exactly what he has going on.

For years I have been told that I should write a book.  I have been told by family (let’s face it they are not exactly objective), friends, and teachers.  I have to admit that it is my own perceived limitations that are stopping me.  It’s that little nagging voice in the back of my mind that has me halted.  “You could never be as good as they suspect.”  It taunts me and so I have yet to write a book.  I have always been a writer.  I have pages and pages of my writing.  My senior prediction in high school was that I would write the next great American novel, even then you could hardly find me without pen to paper.

Now, like Mr. Baggins, it is fear that has me stopped.  I have to wonder if I should take Gandalf’s advice and just plunge ahead.  Maybe I too have more to me than even I believe is there.

4 Comments

  1. Do it. What’s the worst that could happen? It’s not very good? But in the process of writing it, you’ve got better, you’ve learned something about yourself, and you’ve developed a good work ethic.

    • That’s what everyone keeps telling me. I think I have finally resolved on writing a book, now I just need to figure out which one! Thanks for the words of encouragement.

  2. So that will be classic book 101. Something I wish I’d known nine years ago when I started writing? That I can’t believe how much I have enjoyed it. I hope you will too.

    • Thank you for that comment. It brought a smile to my face! I hope I can let my fear go long enough to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

