Giving Children A Light To Read By

electricity

As a parent, there are few things I want to teach my child more than to be thankful for the blessings in his life.  I believe, for the most part, I have done a pretty darn good job.  When I asked him what he wanted for his upcoming birthday he responded “I just want everyone to come, eat a good dinner, and laugh.”  That’s pretty darn remarkable for a nearly thirteen year old child to say.

However, I then read something that just strikes me at my heart.  Today I clicked on my LinkedIn account and found an article titled “Electrifying Africa”.  I was intrigued.  We take electricity for granted here in the states, heck I’m taking it for granted right now.  I found it so sad that these children have no lights to read by.  It just seems like such a simple thing to have and yet it is a priceless commodity to them.  I am going to make my son read the article when he wakes up (yes it’s currently 2 in the afternoon and he has yet to roll himself out of bed), I think he just needs a little reminder how blessed he is.

To read more: http://www.positiveimpactmagazine.com/2013/07/15/electrify-africa-act/#.UfauOY1we68

Leave a Reply

