Saying Goodbye To Some Old Friends

epicadventurers

It’s time to say goodbye to our friend Bilbo Baggins.  It’s been a fantastic journey and I’m truly sorry to close these pages.  After the struggle I had with War of the Worlds, The Hobbit has been like a breath of fresh air.  I adore Tolkien and am now determined to read all of his books, as soon as 100 Classics Challenge is complete that is.

The next book will be Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.  I have to admit that I am a little intimidated, Dickens has always seemed a little dark to me.  It could be because the only Dickens book I have ever read is A Christmas Carol.  It is dark but my absolute favorite Christmas story of all time.

For now I will say a fond farewell to Tolkien.  It has been a delicious book and a fantastic journey.  I will hold fond memories of Bilbo, Gandalf, Smaug, and all the others.  They are my second favorite fictional ensemble of all time.

Leave a Reply

