We Are Sick of Old Men and Money Counters

We have had enough of the old men and the money-counters!

We have had enough of the old men and the money-counters!

Tolkien knew his politics.  Which one of us has not wanted to scream this sentence to the heavens a time or two?  You know you have all been there.  I have never been a political person.  I absolutely practice my right to vote and I put a lot of thought into who earns my vote, but I am not a political person.  It holds no interest in my brain.  However, even I see the ridiculousness of the suite wearers in the government.  There is not a single sixty-year-old man in a suit coat that could ever properly represent me.  He couldn’t even pretend to understand the way my brain works.

Tolkien obviously felt this way as well.  This was not just the cry of some fictional lake people, this was the cry of all people.  We all long for a Bard in our world!

So, I will just say this much, I absolutely understand where Tolkien is coming from.  For I have had “enough of the old men and the money-counters.”  I want to see a Bard and Baggins in office, men of sense and honesty.

Leave a Reply

