Through Dangers Untold and Hardships Unnumbered…

labyrinth

I am a child of the enchanted.  I am a child of Henson’s creation.  Yes, I loved the Muppets, Fraggle Rock, and Sesame Street.  However, it was none of these that truly captured my heart and mind.  That belongs to the brilliance of Labyrinth.  Sarah is the geek girl to end all geek girls and I was emboldened by her.

Growing up geeky is not an easy task for a girl.  Whether it is science, math, or reading that was your geek love; it has never been easy to be geek.  There’s a lot of pressure on young girls to look a certain way or act a certain way.  Let’s face it, being geek means you are on the outside looking in a lot.  A lot of girls change because of this pressure.  They give in and adapt to their surroundings, desiring to fit in rather than be true the their self.  What a total shame.

For me, being geek was a matter of pride.  I never hid my love of books, fantasy, and the stage.  I adored who I was and I wasn’t going to back down to please anyone else.  I think this has to do with my parents, they wouldn’t have stood by and let me be led away from my true self.  That’s Sarah.  She’s the embodiment that is all geek girls the world over.  She’s smart and strong.   So when she exclaimed “You have no power over me”, she sang out to the souls of geek girls everywhere!  For the first time, we faced a girl that was not led away by a false prince charming.  She is no Cinderella or Sleeping Beauty.  She stands on her own two feet and looks her prince in the face and tells him exactly where he can go.  Goblin Kings, after all, only have the power if we let them have it.  That’s a pretty remarkable statement.  Think about it this way, everything in your life only has power if you let it.  It was such a profound statement to me, even as a young girl.  So the next time you face dangers untold and hardships unnumbered remember Sarah and realize that your Goblin King has no power over you!

2 Comments

  1. I love that movie. A friend posted this link the other day….it’s a pretty elaborate fan-generated theory about labyrinth, but makes a lot of sense!
    http://www.buzzfeed.com/donnad/elaborate-fan-theory-about-labyrinth-will-blow-your-min

Leave a Reply

