What You Can Learn From Children

smallchild

 

I believe in a lifetime of learning.  I think we learn from everything around us but I have to say I was educated the most by my son.  Here’s some of the lessons he unknowingly taught me:

  1. Life doesn’t always smell like roses.  Sometimes life gets a little crappy but you just have to shrug it off and keep going.
  2. Be patient.  Sometimes when you try to stand you fall over, that’s life, you have to just be patient.
  3. Laugh sometimes.  Laugh so hard you snort.  It makes the day a little brighter.
  4. God must be a little boy because the world is painted so colorful (something he actually told me when he was three).
  5. Sometimes you have to walk away.  If someone is making you unhappy, no matter how much you want to keep them in your life, you have to just walk away.  “If they can’t accept me for who I am, I don’t need them.”  Is his exact words.
  6. Be content with who you are.  You’re never going to be everyone’s idea of perfect but you should always be your perfect!
  7. Never let anyone talk about your family.  Stand up and be heard.
  8. Stay calm as long as possible and when no one is looking, punch a pillow.
  9. Dance like no one is watching, all the time.
  10. When you’re going to sing, make it loud and proud.  It doesn’t matter if you have a voice worth listening to or not.
  11. Be honest.  Even if you know the other person may get hurt.  It’s better than letting someone you love go out into the world and get laughed at.
  12. Enjoy the simple things in life.  Every single day doesn’t need to be in overdrive.  You can take it slower and just enjoy being alive.
  13. Don’t drink soda.  My son has never once in his life had a taste of soda.  He claims that the sugars destroy your body and your teeth.  He’s right, they do and I never taught him this at all.
  14. Be unexpected.  Say things that make people look at your funny, have an accent just because, and basically keep people on their toes, it’s fun to watch!
  15. Look up at the sky.  You may feel tiny but your imagination will just run wild.
  16. Never apologize for being yourself.  You have no one to please but you.  Why would you want to live the rest of your life with someone that is fake?

Over the thirteen years he’s been alive, I honestly think he has taught me more than I have taught him.  I don’t know how he got so dang smart but I am so glad I have him.  What’s one lesson a child has taught you?

Leave a Reply

