Watching the Perseid Meteor Shower Tonight

Perseid meteor shower

Tonight is the peak of the Perseid meteor shower and I can’t wait to observe it.  My son is a star gazer from ages ago and adores nothing more than looking up at the night sky.  I, on the other hand, am new to the stargazing experience.  I don’t like the sky or the stars, the moon terrifies me, I just feel so small when I look up there.  My son sees the endless blackness as a sign that there is more out there, his curiosity is peaked by it.  I, on the other hand, see nothing but a reminder of how small and truly vulnerable we are.  We are one tiny speck in the universe, a rock floating around a big huge ocean of stars, and we are very insignificant in the universe.  We may view ourselves as meaningful but we truly are not.  That’s how the sky makes me feel.  I will, however, be staying up late tonight to view this phenomenon with my child.  What else are parents for?  If I do not feed his natural curiosity, who will?  If I do not go out of my way to ensure he has experiences, no one else will do it.  So I will, tonight, feel small and powerless to lift my child up to the stars.

 

Meteor watching music – Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon

Leave a Reply

